Can’t Afford My Meds

I went to CVS pharmacy to pick up my meds and they only gave me a seven day supply. The doctor pillsusually orders me a thirty-day supply so I was wondering what was up with the medication refill. They said that my insurance wasn’t going to cover the medication and that I was going to have to pay out of pocket for the rest of the 30 day supply which was $500. I cannot afford to pay $500 for one month’s worth of meds.

So I don’t know what I’m going to do. I spoke with the insurance company today and they pretty much gave me the run around. Saying that they would email me a list of medications that are covered by my insurance, whatever that means. I also tried to use the $15 coupon that the doctor gave to me for the medication but I called the hotline and they said I wasn’t eligible. So I don’t know what I’m going to do.

I have an appointment with my doctor on Wednesday, in two days, so by then I hope this issue will be resolved. But as far as I know she already wrote a letter to my insurance company citing that I needed the medicine and that other medicines hadn’t worked so that they should cover me for this medication under their insurance plan. I hope I will be able to continue taking my medication as it is helping me and I cannot afford to pay for it out of pocket.

2 thoughts on “Can’t Afford My Meds

    • Thank you for being sympathetic to my plight. Yes the big pharma companies make a killing on the little people like us who can barely afford to pay for simple things. I will ask my doctor to do a tare but I’m not sure if it will work because I have regular paid insurance which is why it’s crazy that the medicine is not being covered because the insurance company I have is supposedly very good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

